Skip navigation

So, I’ve been observing some rather humorous things going on in the broad portrait photography industry here in Manitoba – and abroad for that matter.

Not to say that some of these terms are legit for a few photographers (note a “few” often means “a couple”), I would like to refer to them more so as “Fancy Excuses”.

When a new photographer says that they are a “natural light photographer” – it often is just fancy wording for “I don’t have my own studio and/or I don’t know how to play with my equipment enough to pull off good quality images in an indoor setting without a sufficient amount of light”.

When a new photographer claims to do “photojournalism photography” – it’s probably just fancy wording for “I take photos of random sections of your bodies at awkward angles and then add a crap load of post processing to them to make them look artsy”.

I’m not trying to be negative, but clients are being misled and are misinformed on a daily basis. So, maybe let’s just call it what it is, whatever that might be. 🙂

Leave a comment